A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

TMU’s Dr. Raymond Hebert honored by Kenton County Fiscal Court with its 2021 Pioneer Award

At its Fiscal Court meeting recently, Kenton County recognized 2021 Pioneer Award honoree Dr. Raymond Hebert of Thomas More University for his outstanding community service.

Since arriving in Northern Kentucky in the 1970s, Raymond Hebert, Ph.D., has been instrumental in the education and civic engagement of thousands of Thomas More University students. In just one example, as Executive Director of the William T. Robinson III Institute for Religious Liberty, Dr. Hebert convenes national and regional thought leaders to discuss religious liberty issues. Through this and other efforts, he elevates Northern Kentucky nationally through thoughtful and intentional scholarship.

Dr. Ray Hebert and his wife, Maureen

Dr. Hebert has been a strong voice for international understanding. He has taught study abroad courses in numerous countries, led the Thomas More University Study Abroad program for many years, and continues to be a cultural ambassador of Irish national and local history.

As the Director of the Gemini Dual Credit Program, Dr. Hebert drove the development of dual-credit high school courses through Thomas More University. This enabled hundreds of students in local high schools to get a head start in college. He was further instrumental in the development of education in Kenton County as a founder of the Northern Kentucky Education Council.

Over Dr. Hebert’s lifetime, he has been an ambassador of Kenton County and Northern Kentucky history, including his work as a lead writer for Thomas More University’s history from 1971 to the present.

Dr. Hebert demonstrates unflagging character and integrity in all interactions with the community. He treats everyone with high regard and respect and is a champion for his students, past and present. His work in religious liberty, international studies, improving education, and teaching history has taught many the importance of tolerance, community, inquiry, and civil dialogue.

The Kenton County Pioneer Award honors living residents of Kenton County who have a record of outstanding service to the community and exemplify the highest standards of personal integrity. The Pioneer Award honors those who demonstrate servant leadership combined with awareness of the needs of fellow residents.

The Kenton County Ethics Commission reviews nominations, identifies four deserving individuals, and forwards their names to the Kenton County Fiscal Court.

The 2021 Kenton County Pioneer Award honorees are Wilbert Ziegler, Ray Hebert, Ken Harper, and Mark Guilfoyle. Past Pioneer Award recipients include Ralph Drees, Mer Grayson, Robert Hoffer, Kim Kitchen, Parker William, Ed Schroeder, Jim Claypool, Mary Hulefeld, Rick Hulefeld, John Salyers, Bill Goetz, Burr Travis, William Funke, Garren Colvin and Arnold Simpson.

Kenton County Fiscal Court

Related Posts

Leave a Comment