A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Gateway Community & Technical College honors outstanding students at Night of Excellence

Gateway Community & Technical College recognized over 80 students, from adult education to Gateway’s seven academic and technical divisions, at the Night of Excellence awards ceremony, Tuesday, May 14. These students exemplify dedication, leadership, and success, both in the classroom and beyond.

“We are pleased to recognize our students who have discovered and excelled in their talents here at Gateway,” said Dr. Fernando Figueroa, president of Gateway Community & Technical College. “We know they will continue to do so, and their contributions will improve not only their quality of life but the quality of our entire community.”

Dr. Figueroa presented awards to the students.

The Night of Excellence Awards Ceremony celebrates students who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in leadership and/or their particular field of study.

“The Board and I congratulate our outstanding students,” said Dr. Julie Ann Smith-Morrow, Gateway Community & Technical College Board Chair. “We are proud one day they will say, ‘we got our start at Gateway.’ Here, students of all interests, ages, and backgrounds can get the education they need to achieve their goals.”

The Gateway Community & Technical College Foundation sponsors this student recognition event each year. “The Foundation is very pleased to support the students, staff, and faculty who make Gateway the great institution it is,” said Steve Brunson, Gateway Foundation Chair.

Tamara Arellano and Momoka T. Kinder receive top honors as recipients of the J.D. Patton Award for academic and technical excellence.

Recipients are selected by faculty and staff committees, and academic divisions based on student performance.

Students receiving awards include:

Awards for Student Development

Federal Work Study Student Employee of the Year – Casey E. Jones
KCTCS All-Academic Team Award – Nathan Harrigan and Elizabeth Studer
Organization of the Year – Student Nurse Organization
Outstanding Peer Mentoring Award – Marissa Winkle
Outstanding Tutor of the Year  – Magdaline Raeanne Thompson
Spirit of Inspiration – Devon Hoffman
Spirit of TRIO- Project ASPIRE – Jamie Galliher
Student Engagement Leadership Award – Tamara Arellano
TRIO- Project ASPIRE Graduate of Distinction – Tara Tucker

Awards for Academic Affairs

National Technical Honor Society – Josephine Gray, Jason Oberschmidt, Samuel L. Steele, Lisa Stewart and Andrew Tofflemire

Awards for Adult Education Division

Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Boone County – Phillip McCoy
Adult Education Outstanding Student Award—Kenton County – Wesley Williams
ESL (English as a Second Language) Award – Jinae Lee

Awards for Arts & Sciences Division

Anatomy and Physiology I Student of the Year – Rebecca Lynn Simpson
Anatomy and Physiology II Student of the Year – Magdaline Raeanne Thompson
Biological Sciences Pathway Student of the Year – Jheri Burch and Morgan Willett
Deger-Hall Historian Of the Year Award – Autumn Wolfe
English Department Writer of Distinction – Cecilia Vanderputten
Environmental Science Award of Excellence – Ashton L. Quiogue
Outstanding Developmental Reading Student – Mohamed Sao
Outstanding Developmental Writing Student – Katherine Perdue
Outstanding Introduction to Biology Student – Abigail Lauren Woodward
Outstanding Medical Microbiology Student – Cara L. Ballas
Outstanding Student in College Mathematics – Ric Smith
Outstanding Student in College Statistics – Tala Masri
Phi Rho Pi Inductees – Noah Braden, Frank Green and Sarafina Sobczak
Phi Rho Pi Member of Highest Distinction – J. Adam Lahner
Physics Award – Linh Nguyen
Psychology Thinker of the Year – Sarah Douglas
Voices Black & White Photography Contest – 1st – Tara Tucker
Voices Black & White Photography Contest – 2nd – Jenna Townsend
Voices Black & White Photography Contest – 3rd – Brittany Haney
Voices Essay Contest – 1st – Jonathan Guzman
Voices Essay Contest – 2nd – Amie Hatton
Voices Essay Contest – 3rd – Elizabeth A. Brown
Voices Flash Fiction Contest – 1st – Jake Shinkle
Voices Flash Fiction Contest – 2nd – Mattiah Johnson
Voices Flash Fiction Contest – 3rd – Bettie Tippett
Voices Poetry Contest – 1st – Margo Roysdon
Voices Poetry Contest – 2nd – Jamie Galliher
Voices Poetry Contest – 3rd – Sarah Douglas

Awards for Business, Information Technology & Professional Studies Division

CIT Spirit of Perseverance – Samuel L. Steele
Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award – Camryn Cole, Jennifer Kougios and Lory Singleton
Early Childhood Education Leadership Award – Allison Burchfield
Early Childhood Education Scholar Award – Elizabeth Craver
Outstanding Business Administration Student – Jessica Davidson, Taylor Jacobs and Elizabeth Studer
Outstanding CIT Cyberdefense Award – Momoka T. Kinder
Outstanding CIT Information Security Student – Kevin A. Cain
Outstanding CIT Network Administration Student – Tyler Austin Poe
Outstanding CIT Programming Student – Tommy Schwerman
Outstanding Educational Psychology Student – Ian Lyons
Outstanding Introduction to Education Student – Kacia Smith
Outstanding Supply Chain Management Student – Timothy Leiprecht
Outstanding Teaching Exceptional Learners Student – Paulina Madrid Cortez
Outstanding Technology in the Classroom Student Award – Britanie Murphy

Awards for Health Professions Division

Heart of the Nurse – Shannon Wood
Human Services Make a Difference Award – James Scott Orcena
Human Services Outstanding Student – Chandra Huff
Massage Therapy Student of the Year – Erica Laaker
Nurse Aide Student of the Year – Rahma Farah
Nursing Academic Scholar Award – David Alex Godbey
Nursing Clinical Recognition Award – Samantha Marinacci
Outstanding Health Information Technology Student – Andrew Tofflemire
Outstanding HIT Medical Coding Student – Melissa S. Lunnemann
Student Medical Assistant of the Year – Emily Breedlove
Student Nurse Organization Award – Tiffany Dodenhoff
Student Phlebotomist of the Year – Matthew Williams

Awards for Manufacturing & Engineering Division

Air Conditioning Technology Student of the Year – Gregory Ray Clark
Industrial Leadership Award – Brad Sipple

Awards for Transportation Technologies Division

Automotive Technology Student of the Year – Alexander Reinzan
Diesel Repair Technology Student of the Year – Isaias Olguin-Sanchez
Ford Asset Certificate – Brett Bellamy, Jordan Kelley, Scott Mrozinski, Anthony Painter, Josh Payton and Aaron Tillman

Related Posts

Leave a Comment