A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Gov. Briefs: KY REALTORS recognize Koenig with award: Kenton County has recycling essay contest

Kentucky REALTORS has awarded the Jess and Carolyn Kinman Award to Rep. Adam Koenig, R-Erlanger.

The award was presented in the Capitol Rotunda for his efforts as Co-Chair of the House Licensing and Occupations Committee and his involvement with House Bills 2, 329 & 465 from the 2018 General Assembly.

“My experience as a REALTOR gives me a unique perspective on the challenges this important industry faces year after year,” said Representative Koenig. “I am proud to help write and pass legislation that removes barriers to the men and women of Kentucky that are working to help our citizens realize the American dream of homeownership.”

As part of the award, First Federal Savings Bank of Frankfort makes a charitable donation in the name of the award recipient. This year, Rep. Koenig selected the Salvation Army of Covington.

The award is named in honor of Jess Kinman, a former Kentucky REALTORS president and REALTOR of the Year who passed away in 2007, and his wife Carolyn Kinman, who worked for many years at the Legislative Research Commission and General Assembly.

The Kinman Award is presented to an outstanding Kentuckian whose involvement in the legislative and political arenas have left an indelible mark on all those who have known or worked with him or her.


Kenton County announces recycling essay contest for high school students

Kenton County Public Works Solid Waste Management (KCPW-SWM) wants to know, “Who Should Recycle? What can be Recycled? Why is Recycling Important? How does Recycling Affect Our World? Ideas and Ways to Promote Good Recycling for the Future.”

High school students that can answer those questions in a 1,000-word essay could win prizes.

Three winners will be selected and recognized at a Kenton County Fiscal Court meeting in the spring. Prizes include:

  • 1st Place- $100 Gift Card
  • 2nd Place- $50 Gift Card
  • 3rd Place- $25 Gift Card

Winning essays will also be featured on the Kenton County website. Entries will be reviewed by the Kenton County Public Works office panel.

All entries will become property of the KCPW-SWM.

Send your 1,000 word essay to: Melissa Grandstaff, KCPW-SWM at 420 Independence Station Rd. Independence, KY 41051 or email it to: Melissa.Grandstaff@kentoncounty.org.

The deadline is March 15, 2019. 

Office of the Kenton County Judge/Executive

Related Posts

Leave a Comment