A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Law enforcement officers, including several from NKY, graduate from basic training at EKU

Thirty-three law enforcement officers from agencies across the state graduated from basic training at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training.

The graduates of Class 481 completed 23 weeks of training, which consisted of 923 hours of recruit-level instruction. Major training areas included homeland security, law offenses and procedures, vehicle operations, firearms, investigations, first aid and CPR, patrol procedures, orientation for new law enforcement families and the mechanics of arrest, restraint and control.
Basic training is mandatory for Kentucky law enforcement officers to comply with the state’s Peace Officer Professional Standards Act of 1998. The Department of Criminal Justice Training provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs’ deputies, university police, airport police and others. 

The agency also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky law enforcement officers and public safety dispatch training.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 – making it the nation’s only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 481 graduates and their agencies are:
Marcus Q. Allen, Louisville Metro Youth Detention Service
Zachary M. Carney, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Christopher M. Carson, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Paul Allen Chandler, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Ronald T. Cox, Butler County Sheriff’s Office
Austin L. Esther, Ohio County Sheriff’s Office
Paul M. Evans, Morgantown Police Department
John D. Fields, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Michael A. Gonterman, Florence Police Department
Aaron B. Green, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Brant T. Green, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Alex S. Hamilton, Flemingsburg Police Department
Zachary Ty Hammer, Tompkinsville Police Department
Joel A. High Jr., Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Brandon Hitch, Adair County Sheriff’s Office
Bradley D. Hunt, Radcliff Police Department
Edward A. Hunt, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office
D.J. Hutcherson, Florence Police Department
Derek A. Jackson, Florence Police Department
Timothy W. Johnson, Florence Police Department

Carmel L. Keith, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Samuel V. Knopp, Marion County Sheriff’s Office
Jeremy J. Lewis, Leslie County Sheriff’s Office
Trevor R. Lowe, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Stephen T. Marshall, Madisonville Police Department
Jaime A. Morales, Scott County Sheriff’s Office
Benjamin J. Morris, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
Nicholas D. Ruffing, Cincinnati/N. Ky. Airport Police Department
Cassandra Jo E. Skinner, Paducah Police Department
Seth N. Stewart, Franklin Police Department
Brandon L. Wallen, Georgetown Police Department
John N. Webb III, Guthrie Police Department
Dustin Zink, Florence Police Department

Related Posts

Leave a Comment