A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

NKY Chamber’s annual dinner — ‘Destination: NKY’ — to feature passing of gavel, annual awards Sept. 15

“Destination: NKY,” the Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce’s annual dinner, will recognize the accomplishments of individuals and the business community in making NKY a great destination to live, work and grow.

It will take place on September 15 at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center. It will open with a cocktail reception at 5 p.m. Dinner and award presentation program will be from 6:30-8:30 p.m., and an after party will be held at the Metropolitan Club until 10:30 p.m.

Registration closes on September 8. Register here.

The traditional passing of the gavel will take place as John Hawkins, president and CEO of MPI Consulting, will take over board chair responsibilities from Garren Colvin, president and CEO of St. Elizabeth Healthcare.

The following awards will be presented:
• Walter R. Dunlevy/Frontiersman Award Sponsored by Duke Energy

Established in 1968, the Walter R. Dunlevy Frontiersman Award recognizes an individual who has a lifelong history of outstanding service to the Northern Kentucky community, exhibits outstanding service to their profession or industry, and exemplifies the highest standards of personal integrity and family responsibility.

The 2022 recipient is Paul Verst with Verst Group Logistics. 

• Walter L. Pieschel (MVP) Award Sponsored by Humana

Named in memory of the NKY Chamber’s first volunteer leader, the award recognizes an individual Chamber member who has provided outstanding volunteer service to the NKY Chamber as a committee member, committee chair, or in any other special capacity during the past 12 months.

The 2022 recipient is Kristen Smitherman-Voltaire with Turner Construction.

• Northern Kentucky Unity Award Sponsored by PNC Bank

Presented to an individual or individuals who have shown leadership in bringing Northern Kentuckians together to address and solve common challenges and issues and has shown leadership in seeking regional solutions to Northern Kentucky challenges.

The 2022 recipient is The Cincy Region Collaboration by meetNKY & Visit Cincy.


Northern Kentucky ImageMaker Award Sponsored by St. Elizabeth Healthcare

Presented on special occasions to an individual or individuals who have brought national or international attention to the Northern Kentucky community through their achievements.

The 2022 recipients are NKY’s World Champion Robotics Teams.
• Devou Cup Presented by The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

The Northern Kentucky Fund of the Greater Cincinnati Foundation created the Devou Cup to honor the generosity of individuals who make a profound difference in the quality of community life in Northern Kentucky, now and into the future.

The 2022 recipients are Bob and Dell Ann Sathe. 

• Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III Northern Kentucky Economic Development Award Presented by Northern Kentucky Tri-ED

The Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III Northern Kentucky Economic Development Award is presented annually to the individual, entity, company, or organization demonstrating significant advancement of economic development efforts in Northern Kentucky.

The 2022 recipient is Rep. Sal Santoro with the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

• The Horizon Award Presented by Horizon Community Funds

The Horizon Award recognizes the extraordinary contributions of an individual who exemplifies dedication, integrity, and honorable service to Northern Kentucky through community leadership. Recipients are individuals who have devoted their time, talents, and expertise to serve the public good, and who have made significant, demonstrable, and direct contributions to our community’s well-being.

The 2022 recipient is Leo Calderón with Esperanza Latino Center of Northern Kentucky.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment