A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Jonathan Cullick, English professor at NKU joins Campbell County Public Library Board of Trustees

Jonathan S. Cullick, an English professor at Northern Kentucky University, is the newest member of the Campbell County Public Library’s Board of Trustees.

He was sworn in by Fiscal Court Judge/Executive Steve Pendery on Thursday, Nov. 7. Dr. Cullick was selected to fill the unexpired term of Carla Landon, who resigned in July. The term will expire Sept. 30, 2021.

Jonathan S. Cullick, left, is congratulated by Fiscal Court Judge/Executive Steve Pendery after being sworn in as the newest member of Campbell County Public Library’s Board of Trustees on Thursday, Nov. 7, at Mr. Pendery’s office in Newport (provided photo).

“Jon has a wealth of administration experience and a passion for promoting reading and literacy,” said CCPL Director JC Morgan. “We know he will be a tireless leader and advocate for the library.”

One of the first things Dr. Cullick and his wife, Cheryl, did when they moved to Bellevue in 2002 was find the nearest library – the CCPL Newport branch, in this case – and get their library cards. Over the past 17 years, they have participated in many library programs and even have a little library in their front yard. 

Dr. Cullick, who chaired the NKU English department from 2009-2013, was named College Teacher of the Year by the Kentucky Council of Teachers in 2019. He utilized the Newport and Carrico/Fort Thomas study rooms to complete his most recent scholarly work, Mockingbird Grows Up: Re-Reading Harper Lee Since Watchman with colleague Cheli Reutter, to be published in January 2020.

By law, the board must maintain a balanced geographical representation of all areas of the county. In keeping with that law, candidates from the Newport, Bellevue and Dayton area were considered.

The current board also includes: Cathy Howard, president; Tracy Smith, vice president; Paul Johnson, treasurer; and Christie Fillhardt, secretary. The board meets at 5:30 pm on the third Wednesday each month. All board meetings are open to the public with no need to register. Upcoming meetings are: Dec. 18, at Newport; and Jan. 15, at Carrico/Fort Thomas.

The Campbell County Public Library operates four branches.  The Cold Spring Branch is located at 3920 Alexandria Pike in Cold Spring, phone 859-781-6166. The Carrico/Fort Thomas Branch is located at 1000 Highland Ave. in Fort Thomas, phone 859-572-5033. The Newport Branch is located at 901 E. Sixth St. in Newport, phone 859-572-5035. The Alexandria Branch, which opened in January 2018, is located at 8333 Alexandria Pike in Alexandria, phone 859-572-7463.

There is an Express location for pick-ups and returns in Silver Grove and Melbourne. 

All facilities and meeting rooms are ADA compliant.

Campbell County Public Library

Related Posts

Leave a Comment