A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Governor-elect Beshear announces transition team, says he wants to ‘lift up’ every family

Governor-elect Andy Beshear announced more members of his transition team as he prepares to take office on Dec. 10.

Eleven co-chairs and 150 members from around the state were announced by Beshear, who noted during a press conference in the Capitol Rotunda, “We can only have unity if we have inclusivity. It’s also about treating everyone – and I mean everyone – with respect.”

Governor-elect Andy Beshear announces his transition team. (Kentucky Today photo)

He said it’s important to remember, “The best ideas and solutions are not always going to come from inside this Capitol. They come from different places, different people, and, yes, they come from different parties.”

Chairs and co-chairs include:

Budget, chaired by former Lt. Gov. Crit Luallen.

Economic Development Cabinet, co-chairs Jack Dulworth, Eric Farris and Sadiqua Reynolds, head of the Urban League.

Cabinet for Health and Family Services, co-chairs, Rep. Joni Jenkins, D-Shively, Emily Parento. and Dr. Wayne Tuckson.

Col Owens of Ft. Michell will be serving on this team.

Energy and Environment Cabinet, co-chairs former Sen. Dan Seum, R-Louisville, former Rep. Mike Bowling, D-Middlesboro, and Becky Goodman.

Education and Workforce Development Cabinet, Chaired by Lt. Gov.-elect Jacqueline Coleman, with co-chair Rev. Corrie Shull.

Karen Cheser, superintendent of Ft. Thomas Schools, will be serving on this team.

Finance and Administration Cabinet, co-chairs former Louisville Metro council member Marianne Butler and Mitchel Denham.

Governor’s office, co-chairs La Tasha Buckner (currently an assistant Attorney General) and Larry Bond.

Justice and Public Safety Cabinet, co-chairs former U. S. Attorney Kerry Harvey and Sen. Reggie Thomas, D-Lexington.

Michelle Snodgrass of Cold Spring will be serving on this team.

Labor Cabinet, cochairs former Sen. Dorsey Ridley, D-Henderson, John Stovall and Kyle Henderson.

Lance Lucas of Union will be serving on this team.

Personnel Cabinet, co-chairs Al Cornish and Dr. Jody Prather.

Public Protection Cabinet, co-chairs Rep. Dennis Keene, D-Wilder, Keith Jackson and Ray Perry.

Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, co-chairs former Kentucky Derby Festival President Mike Berry and John McConnell.

Transportation Cabinet, co-chairs former Rep. Joe Prather, D-Elizabethtown and Jeff Taylor.

“This team is going to help us establish the type of culture that is committed to priorities of education, health care, economic development, and to honor our commitment to our public employees, specifically through their pensions,” Beshear said.

After introducing the chairs and co-chairs, Beshear said, “When I look at my kids and I look at my family, I love them more than anything in this world. I’m raising my kids with our shared Kentucky values because I love this Commonwealth. And now it’s my job as governor to care about creating the type of Kentucky that can work and help and lift up every single family. I believe this team we are putting in place is going to help make that happen.”

Beshear will be sworn into office Dec. 10.

See complete list of transition team here.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment