A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

NKY Chamber to hold annual dinner on Sept. 5. to pass gavel to Dan Cahill, present awards

The Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce (NKY Chamber) will hold its Annual Dinner, Presented by Fifth Third Bank on Thursday, September 5 at the Northern Kentucky Convention Center.

The NKY Chamber’s largest networking event of the year will recognize community and business leaders who are making a lasting impact on our region while also highlighting the strides the NKY Chamber has made in the last 50 years and sharing plans for the year ahead.

It will start at 5 p.m. for networking; the dinner program begins at 6:30 p.m.

“For the past 50 years the NKY Chamber has worked tirelessly to lead, connect and advocate on behalf of its members, and has promoted the Northern Kentucky region as an outstanding place to work and call home,” said NKY Chamber Board Chair Jim Parsons, Partner at Keating Muething & Klekamp PLL.

Photo provided of last year’s event

“As a result of our efforts, in partnership with other critical businesses, organizations and individuals, our area is leading the way in terms of business growth and expansion, developing regional solutions to issues, and improving the overall quality of life for our residents.”

The evening will mark the transition in leadership for the NKY Chamber Board of Directors with the passing of the gavel. Dan Cahill, CEO HSD Metrics will begin his one-year tenure as Board Chair as Parsons steps into the Immediate Past Chair position.

“I am humbled to be a part of the long line of NKY Chamber leaders and looking forward to my term as Board Chairman,” said Cahill. “My focus this year will be much like that of those who have come before me over the course of the last 50 years: position the NKY Chamber as a resource to help our region lead, connect and advocate with one voice.”

Founded in 1969, 2019 marks the NKY Chamber’s 50th anniversary. Those 50 years have brought growth, development, and a community unique to the region. The evening will include a look back at key milestones and highlight individuals who were instrumental in the organization’s evolution.

“The NKY Chamber was founded 50 years ago with the idea that “We’re stronger together,” said Brent Cooper, President and CEO of the NKY Chamber. “We continue to build upon that foundation with our regional efforts toward Growing Regional Outcomes through Workforce (GROW NKY), International Trade, our Women’s Initiative, Leadership Development, and the regional advocacy work we do every day. We’re thrilled to be able to bring back past Presidents and Board Chairs to help celebrate the past, as well as talk about how we can work together as one Northern Kentucky for the future.”

The centerpiece of the evening will be the presentation of awards to individuals and organizations making an impact on the region. The following awards will be presented:

The Walter R. Dunlevy/Frontiersman Award

This year’s recipient is Bob Heil with KLH Engineers. 

Established in 1968, the Walter R. Dunlevy Frontiersman Award recognizes an individual who has a lifelong history of outstanding service to the Northern Kentucky community, exhibits outstanding service to their profession or industry, and exemplifies the highest standards of personal integrity and family responsibility.

Dan Cahill, to be next Chamber Board Chair

The Walter L. Pieschel (MVP) Award, sponsored by Humana
This year’s recipient is Cassie J. Forrester with PNC Bank. 

Named in memory of the NKY Chamber’s first volunteer leader, the Walter L. Pieschel award recognizes an individual NKY Chamber member who has provided outstanding volunteer service to the NKY Chamber as a committee member, committee chair, or in any other special capacity during the past 12 months.

The Northern Kentucky Unity Award, sponsored by PNC Bank

This year’s recipients are the three Northern Kentucky Judges-Executive – Gary Moore (Boone County), Kris Knochelmann (Kenton County), and Steve Pendery (Campbell County).

The Unity Award is presented to an individual or individuals who have shown leadership in bringing Northern Kentuckians together to address and solve common challenges and issues and has shown leadership in seeking regional solutions to Northern Kentucky challenges. 

The Northern Kentucky ImageMaker Award, sponsored by St. Elizabeth Healthcare

This year’s recipient is New Riff Distilling.

The ImageMaker Award is presented on special occasions to an individual or individuals who have brought national or international attention to the Northern Kentucky community through their achievements.
The Devou Cup, presented by the Northern Kentucky Fund of the Greater Cincinnati Foundation

This year’s recipients are Jeanne-Marie and Dick Tapke.

The Northern Kentucky Fund of the Greater Cincinnati Foundation created the Devou Cup to honor the generosity of individuals who make a profound difference in the quality of community life in Northern Kentucky, now and into the future.
The Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III Northern Kentucky Economic Development Award, sponsored by Northern Kentucky Tri-ED

This year’s recipient is Jeanne Schroer, Catalytic Development Fund Corp. of Northern Kentucky.

The Wm. T. (Bill) Robinson III Northern Kentucky Economic Development Award is presented annually to the individual, entity, company, or organization demonstrating significant advancement of economic development efforts in Northern Kentucky.

“A service mindset is part of the DNA of the Northern Kentucky business community,” adds Cahill. “Those being recognized at the annual dinner have truly distinguished themselves. This year’s award winners have made a lasting and meaningful impact on our region, and we are thankful for their dedication to our community.”

Individual registrations are $95 and a table of 10 is $950 until July 15th.

Registration is available for the cocktail reception only, for $60. Registration is available online.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment