A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Northern Kentucky attorneys Neace, Eviston are CHFS top child support collections partners

The Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) has announced the state’s 20 top-performing child support collection partners from the past year and has recognized other staff who have increased payments for children served by the child support program.


The winners were announced recently at a ceremony in Frankfort hosted by the CHFS Child Support Enforcement program (CSE), part of the CHFS Department for Income Support (DIS).

The office of Boone County Attorney Robert Neace was once again recognized as a top performer among counties with 4,000 cases or more. Neace was also recognized as a top performer in 2017.

Michelle Eviston of the Campbell County Attorney’s office received the John R. Fendley Child Support Attorney of the Year award.

The CSE administers child support enforcement for all 120 counties. CSE contracts with local officials to jointly manage the duties.

DIS Commissioner W. Bryan Hubbard, who leads the CSE Division, thanked the contractors and staff who were recognized.

”The service you provide through Child Support Enforcement helps more than a quarter of a million Kentucky children,” he said. “That work is helping build a better future for all of them. Through your work, you promote parental responsibility so that children receive support from both parents — even when they live in separate households. It’s a noble calling and you define the spirit of public service.”

Hubbard said he was also pleased to help honor the state’s top performing contractors and administrative staff.

Contracting officials are ranked based on their paternity establishments, the establishment of child support orders, child support collections and past-due collections.

The 2018 Commissioner’s Award was shared by three women – Kristy Wright, Crystal Salisbury, and Michelle Patton. Each is a veteran caseworker from the Floyd County child support office, Hubbard said, “The ultimate measure of devotion to one’s neighbors is the willingness to self-sacrifice on their behalf. These three women put themselves on the line for the children of Floyd County in 2018. Their grace and grit merit the highest honor I can bestow upon them.”

Rankings for the 2017-18 fiscal year were made based on number of active cases.

Top performing counties with 1,000 or fewer cases are:

•        Adair County, County Attorney Jennifer Hutchison-Corbin
•        Crittenden County, County Attorney Rebecca Johnson
•        Green County, County Attorney Russ Goff
•        Hancock County, County Attorney Paul Madden Jr.
•        Livingston County, County Attorney Raymond McGee
•        Lyon County, County Attorney Lee Wilson
•        McLean County, County Attorney Donna Dant
•        Morgan County, County Attorney Myles Holbrook

Top performing counties with 1,000-2,000 cases are:

•        Allen County, County Attorney Hallye Arterburn
•        Breckinridge County, County Attorney Bradley Butler
•        Mason County, County Attorney John Estill
•        Ohio County, County Attorney Justin Keown
•        Oldham County, County Attorney John K. Carter
•        Russell County, County Attorney Kevin Shearer
•        Taylor County, County Attorney John D. Bertram

Top performing counties with 2,000-4,000 cases are:

•        Bell County, County Attorney Neil Ward
•        Harlan County, County Attorney Fred Burro Jr.
•        Hopkins County, County Attorney Byron Hobgood

Top performing counties with 4,000 cases or more are:

•        Boone County, County Attorney Robert Neace
•        Christian County, County Attorney John T. Soyars


Several other awards were also given to contractors and CSE staff. They are:

•        Contracting Official Office of the Year – Hart County Attorney’s Office
•        John R. Fendley Child Support Attorney of the Year – Michelle Eviston, Campbell County Attorney’s Office
•        Tim Olds Outstanding Customer Service Award – Kathleen Mattingly, Daviess County Attorney’s Office
•        Contracting Official Employee of the Year – Patricia Skillman, Hardin County Attorney’s Office
•        State Child Support Field Office Employee of the Year – Vanessa Morgan, Eastern Mountain Regional Office
•        Central Office Employee of the Year – Teresa Grigsby, Processing and Distribution Branch
•        Commissioner’s Award – Kristy Wright, Crystal Salisbury and Michelle Patton, Floyd County Child Support

To learn more about child support, click here.

Cabinet for Health and Family Services

Related Posts

Leave a Comment