A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Eight local players selected for Best of the Bluegrass football all-star game in December

By Terry Boehmker
NKyTribune sports reporter

Eight seniors on Northern Kentucky high school football teams have been invited to play in the annual Best of the Bluegrass All-Star Game on Sunday, Dec. 9.

Campbell County tight end Reid Jolly, left, is among the local players selected for the Best of the Bluegrass senior all-star game. (Photo by Dale Dawn)

The local players were chosen for the Kentucky team that will play the top seniors from the Louisville area in the all-star game that’s set for 2 p.m. at Elizabethtown High School. Admission will be $10 with children 6 and under admitted free.

The offensive players on the state all-star roster include Covington Catholic running back Casey McGinness, Campbell County tight end Reid Jolly, Ryle guard Jacob Gideon and Ryle place kicker Mason Molique.

The local defensive players on the roster are lineman Adam Derry of Beechwood and linebackers Kyle Kelly of Newport Central Catholic, Clayton Cogswell of Simon Kenton and Jack Coldiron of CovCath.

All nine of those seniors were also selected for Northern Kentucky all-district honors by local coaches. Here are the four all-district teams:

QB — Jared Hicks (Conner). RB — Jon Sergent (Simon Kenton), Christian Webster (Conner). WR — Reid Jolly (Campbell County), Tate Niederman (Conner), Mikey Armour (Cooper). TE — Aiden Camp (Conner). PK — Mason Molique (Ryle). OL — Lucas Ferguson (Boone County), Billy Spaulding (Campbell County), Zane Cahill (Conner), Michael Attabary (Cooper), Jacob Gideon (Ryle), Treyvon Nash (Simon Kenton).
DL — J.J. Courtney (Simon Kenton), Michael Attabary (Cooper), Zane Cahill (Conner), Tanner Lawrence (Campbell County). LB — John Mark Shutt (Boone County), Aiden Camp (Conner), Jackson Saladin (Ryle), Clay Cogswell (Simon Kenton). DB — David LeCount (Simon Kenton), Tate Niederman (Conner), Reid Jolly (Campbell County), Jantje Wingo (Boone County). Punter — Casey Rouse (Campbell County). Athlete — Jeremiah Lee (Cooper)

QB — Caleb Jacob (CovCath). RB — Casey McGinness (CovCath), Quincy Perrin (Scott). WR — Jack Coldiron (CovCath), Channing Williams (Dixie Heights), Nate  Roberts (Highlands). TE — Michael Mayer (CovCath). OL — Aidan Dietz (Holmes), Trent Johnson (Highlands), KeeShawn Westley (Dixie Heights), Jackson Sora (CovCath), Carter Black (CovCath), Grant Hemmer (CovCath). PK — Nick Bowman (Highlands).
DL — Ross Halverstadt (CovCath), Ben Sisson (Highlands), Phil Madison (Holmes), Justin Grindstaff (Scott). LB — Jared Kelsay (Scott), Brycen Huddleston (Highlands), Jack Coldiron (CovCath), Michael Mayer (CovCath). DB — Kyren Simpson (Scott), Sabeon Turner (Scott), Cortez Blassingame (Holmes), Duncan Summe (CovCath). Punter — Grady Cramer (Highlands) Athlete — Tayquan Calloway (Holmes).

QB —
Paul Kremer (NewCath). RB — Travon Mason (Lloyd), Kyle Kelly (NewCAth), Tyler Porter (Newport). WR — Keion Alexander (Lloyd), Semari Miller (Newport), Aubrey Posey (NewCath). TE — Jackson Howard (NewCath). OL — Sean McIntosh (Holy Cross), Tyson Maynard (Lloyd), Nate Turner (Newport), Kenny Vorhees (Newport), Robby Wormald (NewCath), Jaylen Lankheit (NewCath). PK – None
DL — Brad Turner (Lloyd), Anthony Hall (Lloyd), Joe Martin (Holy Cross). LB — Jon Williams (Lloyd), Michael Colston (Newport), Daniel Craig (NewCath), Kyle Kelly (NewCath). DB — Darian Jackson (Lloyd), Kaleal Davis (Newport), Hunter Cain (NewCath), Hezekiah Miller (NewCath). Punter — Jeremiah Hicks (Holy Cross). Athletes — Brandon McClenden (Holy Cross), Tyler Porter (Newport).

QB —
Cameron Hergott (Beechwood). RB — Logan Castleman (Beechwood), Sean Stratton (Ludlow). WR — John Odom (Beechwood), Gunner Barnes (Bellevue). Will Richardson (Ludlow). TE — Luke Bulger (Beechwood). OL — John Willis (Beechwood), Noah Fisher (Beechwood), Duncan Baugh (Beechwood), Tyler Litmer (Brossart), Cody Brownfield (Ludlow), Joey Sparks (Bellevue). PK — Bryan Duffy (Brossart).
DL — Dayton Baugh (Beechwood), Tristan Steffen (Ludlow), Josue Doll (Ludlow), Adam Derry (Beechwood). LB — Jake Sherron (Beechwood), Will Ryan (Bellevue), Nathan Bezold (Brossart), Cody Kramer (Ludlow). DB — Hank Birindelli (Beechwood), Charlie Schreiber (Bellevue), Austin Klosterman (Dayton), Ian Vallandingham (Ludlow). Punter — Logan Castleman (Beechwood). Athlete — Mason Williams (Beechwood).

Recent Posts


  1. Vinny Nerone says:

    Terry, thank you to you and the Tribune staff for your coverage of NKY, especially our high school sports. In this story, you have Nick Bezold listed as making the Class 1A all conference defense. His correct name is Nathan Bezold

    His defensive coordinator

Leave a Comment