A nonprofit publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Second NKyTribune candidate forum to be Saturday at 10 a.m. at Erlanger library, open to public

The second in a series of candidate forums offered by the NKyTribune will be held tomorrow, starting at 10 a.m. at the Kenton County Public Library Erlanger Branch.

This second forum will feature the District 61 legislative races and a number of legislative candidates whose opponents were not available to participate.

Mark Hansel, managing editor of the NKyTribune, will moderate. Questions in writing will be accepted from the audience.

Rules of civility and common courtesy will apply. No signs will be allowed into the meeting spaces.

The NKyTribune does not endorse candidates but provides a public service platform for honest and open dialogue.

The first forum featuring District 66 legislative candidates Roberto Henriquez, Ed Massey and Lex Hannan and Erlanger mayor candidates Jessica Fette and Randy Blankenship was held last night at the library to a full crowd.

It was an informative and engaging discussion, with questions from an attentive audience and an incredibly civil dialogue, said NKyTribune editor Judy Clabes.

Here is the schedule-to-date of the other forums for candidates:

Saturday, October 13, 10 a.m.
Kenton County Public Library – Erlanger Branch

State Legislative Race — District 61
(seat vacated by Brian Linder of Dry Ridge)

Darrell Link
Savannah Maddox

Starting about 11:15 a.m., these candidates will be heard in succession, as their opponents have declined to participate:

Josh Blair — District 63

Jesse Parks — District 60

Col Owens – District 69

A fourth forum has been added to our schedule, thanks to a collaboration with NKY’s Kentuckians for the Commonwealth and Newport’s Westside Citizens Coalition. It will be for candidates for the Newport City Commission and will be held from 6-9 p.m. on October 18 at Headquarters Historic Event Center in Newport. Details will be forthcoming.

Monday, October 29, 6:30 p.m.
Trinity Episcopal Church, Covington

State Legislative Race – District 67

Dennis Keene (incumbent)
Bob Schrage

Starting about 7:40 p.m.
(seat vacated by Arnold Simpson)

State Legislative Race – District 65

Jordan Huizenga
Charles ‘Buddy’ Wheatley

Other forums for certain races that do not already have public forums scheduled are under consideration. We will work with any willing participants to help organize forums open to the public. Contact news@nkytrib.com.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment