A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Pendleton County Schools superintendent Strong among Superintendent of the Year finalists

Four Kentucky school superintendents are in the running for the 2018 Kentucky Superintendent of the Year Award. The finalists include: Mr. Jon Ballard, of Elizabethtown Independent Schools, Dr. Nick Brake, of Owensboro Independent Schools, Dr. James Evans, Jr. of Lee County Schools and Dr. Anthony Strong of Pendleton County Schools.

Finalists were selected based on the following criteria:

1. Leadership for Learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system
2. Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication
3. Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team
4. Community Involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national, and international issues

KASA is proud to recognize these superintendents as finalists for the 2018 award. “They are exemplary leaders who have distinguished themselves and their districts by modeling the way and setting a clear vision for the students and communi­ties they serve,” said Executive Deputy Director Rhonda Caldwell.

The finalists are:

Jon Ballard
During his time as superintendent, Ballard has seen Elizabethtown Ind. Schools College and Career Readiness scores rise from 66 to 89 percent.

Nick Brake
Under Brake’s leadership, Owensboro Public Schools has seen enrollment grow by over seven percent.

(Editor’s note: A graduate of Covington Catholic High School, Brake earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in History and Secondary Education from Northern Kentucky University in 1991; a Master of Arts degree in History in 1997 from Western Kentucky University; a Rank I Certification in Educational Administration from WKU in 1999; and a Doctor of Philosophy degree in the areas of Education Administration, Leadership, and Policy from the University of Louisville in 2003.)

James Evans
Since being named superintendent, Evans has led Lee County Schools’ rise to becoming a District of Distinction.

Anthony Strong

Anthony Strong
Through Strong’s leadership, Pendleton County Schools has reduced the achievement gap with students who receive free or reduced lunch.

The Kentucky award winner, sponsored by KASA and American Fidelity, will be announced December 6. The recipient will move on to participate in the American Association of School Administrators’ Superintendent of the Year Award program and be recognized nationally.

As part of the state recognition program, the Kentucky Superintendent of the Year will receive a surprise visit in his school district and be presented a bronze eagle sculpture to commemorate the award, a $2,500 scholarship for a high school senior in his district, a SOY ring, and travel reimbursement to the AASA National Conference on Education.

KASA is the largest school administrator group in Kentucky, representing more than 3,100 education leaders from across the commonwealth. Formed in 1969, KASA connects education leaders to policymakers, legislators, and other interest groups, and provides numerous benefits and services to Kentucky’s school administrators.

From Kentucky Associaton of School Administrators

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment