A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Coaches of two record-setting high school football teams receive awards at post-season banquet

By Terry Boehmker
NKyTribune sports reporter

Head coaches of two record-setting high school football teams this season received awards at the Northern Kentucky Football Coaches Association post-season banquet on Wednesday.

CovCath coach Eddie Eviston, left, and quarterback A.J. Mayer both received awards at the NKFCA post-season banquet.

Eddie Eviston of Covington Catholic received the Bob Schneider Coach of the Year Award. The Colonels set a team record for most victories with a perfect 15-0 record and won the Class 5A state championship.

Greg Taphouse of Ludlow received the Owen Hauck Award for having the team that showed the most improvement over last year. The Panthers set team records with their high-powered offense and posted an 8-3 record after finishing 3-8 in 2016.

Outstanding players from each of the 20 teams in the association were also recognized at the banquet. Each team got to select one player to receive a plaque and coaches voted on six at-large award-winners.

CovCath and Beechwood, the Class 1A state champion, were among the six teams that had two award-winning players. The Beechwood players were wide receiver/place kicker Daniel Mescher and wide receiver/defensive back Jake Massie. The CovCath pklayers were quarterback A.J. Mayer and linebacker/tight end Kam Butler were the CovCath players.

Roy Lucas Jr. received the Assistant Coach of the Year Award. He was the offensive coordinator on the Simon Kenton team that averaged 396 yards and 44 points per game this season.

Local teams will be nominating players for the Brian Williams “That’s My Boy Award” that goes to the top student-athlete in Northern Kentucky high school football based on a rating system that awards points for achievements in football, academics and community service. The top three nominees will be invited to the National Football Foundation banquet in February where the winner will be announced.

The award is named in honor of Brian Williams, a former recipient who played football at CovCath. He was killed in the 9-11 terrorist attack on the World Trade Center in New York City.


Beechwood — Daniel Mescher, Jake Massie. Bellevue — Seth Evers. Brossart — Bryce Donnelly. Boone County — Mark Shutt. Campbell County — Alex Dowds, Austin Hoeh. Conner — Matt Campbell. Cooper — Justin Schlarman. CovCath — A.J. Mayer, Kam Butler. Dayton — Seth Chinn. Dixie Heights — Garrett Vallandingham.

Highlands — Michael Dunn. Holmes — Stanley Niceley. Holy Cross — Dominic Hassert. Lloyd — Joran Fann. Ludlow — Justin Blackburn. Newport — Kovion Spikes. NewCath — Jason Decker. Ryle — Jake Chisholm, Justin Selby. Scott — Nelson Perrin, Alex Thurza. Simon Kenton — Matt Shearer, Brayden Trattles.


Owen Hauck Award — Greg Taphouse (Ludlow)
Bob Schneider Award — Eddie Eviston (CovCath)
Assistant Coach of the Year — Roy Lucas Jr. (Simon Kenton)

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment