A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

Behringer-Crawford Museum seeking nominations for Two-Headed Calf awards, deadline January 10

Behringer-Crawford Museum in Devou Park is inviting the community to apply for the museum’s eighth annual Two-Headed Calf Community Service Awards. The awards are meant to celebrate the nominees’ extraordinary achievement for service to the community, to history or to learning. 

For service to the community: Generosity and vision

This award is a tribute to a citizen who has embraced community service not as a singular activity but with a deep commitment to doubling his or her contribution by combining the gift of service with a vision for how the quality of life in our community can be and is affirmatively improved by supporting the arts, education, culture and history that enrich each of us. The honoree’s service might take the form of a contribution of his or her time, talent or treasure – or better yet, the sum of all of those. By the example of his or her stewardship and generosity, the honoree is a role model, especially for young people.

For service to history: Scholarship and public service

This award honors a resident of our community who has contributed to the preservation and understanding of our regional or state history, and whose scholarship, in the tradition Herodotus, captures the past not solely as a matter of scholarship but equally as a matter of public good.

For service to learning: Academic excellence and innovation

This award is open to an individual (a student, a parent, a teacher, a principal, an administrator or a volunteer), a school or even a school district.  An auxiliary group affiliated with education can be nominated (for example, a scout troop, single teacher, a teacher and his or her class, or whole school. The award is meant to celebrate extraordinary teaching and learning, especially in disciplines dear to the Behringer-Crawford, such as history or archeology. The honoree or honorees who receive this award do not only demonstrate academic excellence, though we applaud that; the academic excellence is side by side with an innovative, energetic approach to teaching and learning. 

Interested applicants can contact BCM Executive Director Laurie Risch (lrisch@bcmuseum.org or 859-491-4003) for an application or visit the museum’s website at bcmuseum.org. Applications are due by January 10, 2018. Applications can be submitted by mail, in person or by email.

About the awards

Behringer-Crawford Museum in Devou Park is serious about its mission as “a center for the collection, presentation, study and enjoyment of our natural, cultural, and visual and performing arts heritage” – and serious about its exhibits that capture Northern Kentucky’s story.

But the museum has always had a good sense of fun, too. And perhaps nothing symbolizes that good humor more than the museum’s taxidermic prize, the two-headed calf. So, in the spirit of both serious devotion to the mission of the museum and BCM’s reputation as a fun place to visit, we present our eighth annual “Two-Headed Calf Community Service Awards.”

Typically awards celebrate one exceptional achievement. The fastest runner wins the race. The most talented violinist is awarded the gold medallion. Behringer-Crawford Museum’s Two-Headed Calf Awards recognize that very often, true excellence rests with those who demonstrate achievement beyond a single contribution. Just as two heads are better than one, so, too, is the service of the people these awards honor.

The awards will be presented at a banquet on Thursday, March 22, in Northern Kentucky University’s Votruba Student Union Ballroom. Reservations for the banquet can be made by contacting the museum at 859-491-4003.

Past award recipients 

Community Service – for extraordinary stewardship and generosity.
2011      Alice Sparks
2012      Mary Middleton (posthumously – received by Clyde Middleton and family)
2013      Oakley and Eva G. Farris
2014      Ralph Drees
2015      Daniel R. Groneck 
2016      Normand and Lisa Demarais
2017      Michael J. Hammons 

History – for contributing to the preservation and understanding of our regional and state history.
2011      Dr. James C. Claypool
2012      Dr. James A. Ramage
2013      John Boh
2014      Jim Reis
2015      Dr. Paul A. Tenkotte
2016      Theodore H.H. Harris
2017      Dave Schroeder 

Education – for demonstrating academic excellence and innovative approaches in history, the arts or archaeology.
2011      Judy Sanders, Baker Hunt Foundation 
2012      Debbie Brown, Kenton County Schools
2013      T. W. Loring, Ockerman Elementary School
2014      Rick Hulefeld, Children Inc.
2015      Jim R. Hicks, Dixie Heights High School
2016      Raymond G. Hebert, Thomas More College
2017      Terri Cox-Cruey, Kenton County School District

Related Posts

Leave a Comment