A publication of the Kentucky Center for Public Service Journalism

KACo installs new officers, Boone County Judge/Executive Moore assumes leadership role

The Kentucky Association of Counties installs new officers for the 2017-18 year and Boone County Judge/Executive Gary Moore has assumed a leadership role.


Moore was elected as the first vice president of KACo. Moore has been the judge-executive of Boone County for the last 18 years and will continue to hold that position. Moore is on the board of the KACo Workers Compensation Fund, and the immediate past president of the Kentucky County Judge-Executive Association. Moore also serves as the Chairman of NACo’s Transportation Steering Committee.

The incoming officers were inaugurated at the annual KACo Conference banquet, Nov. 9, at the Galt House in Louisville.

David Nicholson, Jefferson County Circuit Court Clerk, is now the 43rd president of KACo. Nicholson is the first KACo president from Jefferson County and the first circuit court clerk to ever hold the position.

Nicholson has played a major role at KACo for several years, most recently serving as KACo’s 1st Vice President. Nicholson is a member of the Board of Directors of the National Association of Counties (NACo) and serves as the subcommittee Vice-Chair of Courts and Corrections on NACo’s Justice and Public Safety Committee policy committee.

Caldwell County Magistrate Elbert Bennett is now the president-elect of KACo. He was previously the second vice president and is set to become president of KACo for the 2018-19 year.  Bennett is the immediate past president of Kentucky Magistrates and Commissioners Association and received the KMCA Public Servant of the Year Award in 2012.

Nicholson (photo courtesy of Susan Riddell)

Madison County Judge-Executive Reagan Taylor is the new second vice president of KACo. In a very close election that came down to a tie between Taylor and Carlisle County Judge-Executive Greg Terry, the incoming officer was decided by a coin toss by outgoing president Bruce Todd. Taylor will continue to serve as Madison County judge-executive, a title he has held since 2014.

Past President Bruce Todd served as KACo’s president for the 2016-17 year. Todd is a Henderson County Magistrate and the current president of the Kentucky Magistrates and Commissioners Association. He is the chairman of KACo Insurance Agency Board and previously served as KACo Legislative Committee Chair.

KACo is a service organization, based in Frankfort, whose members include elected county officials in Kentucky. Since its creation in 1974, KACo has represented the needs of county government providing programs and services to counties, such as insurance, financing services and legislative solutions.


Related Posts

Leave a Comment